A full-season farm on the former Rasmussen Farms site with a confirmed spring Tulip Festival, but whether apples are actually u-pick here (versus sold ready-picked, as under the prior owner) couldn't be confirmed from the farm's own site.
Packer Orchards & Farm Place now runs the property on Thomsen Road that was formerly known as Rasmussen Farms, and the record shows a farm with a genuinely full-season calendar — a u-cut Tulip Festival in spring, then pumpkins and a corn maze in fall. What the record can’t confirm, though, is the one detail that matters most if you’re specifically coming for apples: whether they’re actually pick-your-own here, or whether — as under the previous ownership — they’re sold ready-picked instead.
This is worth stating plainly because it’s the central uncertainty in the record. The farm’s own site, packerorchards.com, was read directly and confirmed the address and hours — but that page didn’t mention apples at all. The u_pick:true designation in this record instead comes from a separate third-party trail guide (gathergrove.com) describing Packer Orchards’ u-pick program as “spanning every season including apples.” That’s a real source, but it’s not the same as the orchard confirming it on its own apple-specific page, and the site’s history matters here: under the prior Rasmussen Farms name, apples were historically sold ready-picked rather than picked by visitors. If u-pick apples specifically are the reason you’re considering this stop, call ahead and ask directly rather than relying on this record’s u_pick field.
The one genuinely confirmed date in the record isn’t about apples at all — it’s the 2026 Tulip Festival, explicitly posted on the farm’s own site as running March 27 through April 30. That’s useful less as a visiting date for apple season and more as evidence that the operation is actively running for the 2026 calendar year, since it’s the one piece of dated, farm-confirmed information available. If tulips interest you as much as apples, that’s a spring trip worth planning around; if you’re here in fall, the Tulip Festival dates don’t tell you anything about when the apples (whichever way they’re sold) will be ready.
Beyond the apple question, the record’s activities list is broad: corn maze, pumpkin patch, bakery, and the Tulip Festival already mentioned. That range suggests Packer Orchards positions itself as a year-round family destination across multiple seasons rather than a single-crop apple stand — which tracks with its inheritance of the larger, multi-activity Rasmussen Farms property. If apples turn out to be sold ready-picked rather than u-pick this year, the corn maze and pumpkin patch may end up being the bigger draw for a fall visit regardless.
The record lists Wednesday through Monday, 10am to 5pm — meaning there’s a weekly closure, implied to be Tuesday, though the record doesn’t spell out which day explicitly beyond the “Wed-Mon” range. No phone number is listed in the record either, which makes confirming the apple situation a matter of checking the website directly or visiting in person rather than calling ahead.
The address on file is 3020 Thomsen Rd, Hood River, OR 97031, in Hood River County. The listed coordinates are an approximate estimate for that address rather than an individually geocoded point. Thomsen Road places this within the broader Hood River Valley Fruit Loop cluster, so it’s easy to combine with other stops on the same drive.
Packer Orchards & Farm Place has a confirmed, active 2026 season and a broad multi-activity lineup, but the record leaves the single most apple-relevant question unresolved: whether apples here are actually pick-your-own, or sold ready-picked as they were under the previous Rasmussen Farms ownership. If u-pick apples are the point of your visit, confirm that directly before you go — everything else about this stop (corn maze, pumpkin patch, bakery) is solid family-outing material regardless of how the apples are sold.
Not stated with specific 2026 apple dates. The farm's own site confirmed 2026 Tulip Festival dates (March 27-April 30), which at least establishes the operation is active for the 2026 season, but no fall apple-specific dates were posted where the record was built.
You're specifically counting on u-pick apples — that detail is unconfirmed for this location and wasn't verifiable on the farm's own apple-specific pages.
Located in the Hood River Valley on the Fruit Loop corridor, alongside other fruit-stand and u-pick stops in the area.
Yes — Packer Orchards & Farm Place now operates the former Rasmussen Farms site on Thomsen Road, per the research notes.
It's unconfirmed. The record marks u_pick as true based on a third-party trail guide describing a full-season u-pick program 'spanning every season including apples,' but the orchard's own apple-specific page didn't confirm this directly, and apples were sold ready-picked (not u-pick) under the prior Rasmussen Farms ownership — a real gap worth resolving by phone before you go.
Wednesday through Monday, 10am to 5pm, per the record — meaning the farm is closed one day a week (not specified beyond the Wed-Mon listing implying a Tuesday closure).
Yes — the farm's own site confirmed 2026 Tulip Festival dates of March 27 through April 30, a spring event distinct from the fall apple season.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Wed-Mon. Check with the orchard before driving out.
Pricing was not published when we last checked.
Yes — it's a pick-your-own orchard, with pre-picked apples at the farm stand too.
3020 Thomsen Rd, Hood River, OR 97031, in Hood River County. It is one of 5 orchards we track in Hood River Valley.
We track 5 orchards in Hood River Valley, 5 of which let you pick your own apples. The orchard has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
What sets it apart locally: it has a corn maze, cider donuts or a bakery, which most Hood River Valley orchards on our list do not.
One caveat worth repeating: this orchard had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 0 of the 5 orchards we track in Hood River Valley had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the orchard confirms it.
There are 4 other orchards we track in Hood River County. All Hood River Valley orchards →
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
packerorchards.com · gathergrove.com
Checked September 2026.