A family-run market and pie shop since the 1940s, cash-or-check only, with its once-featured on-site restaurant currently listed as closed — this leans toward a farm-market visit rather than confirmed open-field picking.
Oren Wooden’s Apple House has been family-run since the 1940s, per the record, and leans firmly toward a farm market and bakery experience — jams, quilts, crafts, and a pie shop selling apple dumplings and fried pies — rather than a confirmed open-field picking destination. One operational detail worth flagging clearly: the once-featured on-site restaurant, the Orchard Cafe, is currently noted on the site as closed until further notice.
The record specifically calls out apple dumplings and fried pies as products of the pie shop here, which reads as a genuine specialty rather than an afterthought alongside the fruit itself. If a made-in-house baked good is part of what draws you to an apple orchard visit, this is one of the more product-specific entries in this file on that front.
This is the most important operational update in the record: the site itself notes the “Orchard Cafe… closed until further notice.” A 2023 travel guide feature had described a full-service restaurant as part of the operation, but the current site’s own language makes clear that’s not currently available. If a sit-down meal was part of your plan for a visit here, confirm by phone whether the cafe has reopened before you go.
A specific, practical detail: payment here is cash or check only, though the site notes an ATM is available on site for those who need it. That’s a small logistical wrinkle worth planning around if you’re used to defaulting to a card for everything — bring cash, or budget time to use the on-site ATM.
The 2023 travel guide’s claim of roughly 100 acres and 21 apple varieties is a specific, appealing figure, but it isn’t itemized or confirmed on the current official site, so this record doesn’t treat it as settled fact for 2026. If a specific variety count or acreage matters to your decision to visit, ask directly rather than relying on the older feature.
As with several other entries in this file, the site simply doesn’t state whether customers can pick their own apples versus buying them already harvested at the market. Given the emphasis on the pie shop, jams, quilts, and crafts, this reads more like a market-and-bakery stop than a dedicated picking destination, but that’s a reasonable inference from tone rather than a confirmed fact.
Hours here are fairly generous and consistent: Monday through Saturday, 9am to 5pm, and Sunday, 1pm to 5pm, all Eastern Time. That’s a wider, more dependable window than several nearby orchards in this file that restrict picking to specific days.
No 2026 season dates, no confirmed apple varieties, and no u-pick confirmation are the central gaps here. Combined with the confirmed restaurant closure, this is a record where the market-and-bakery side of the business seems more solidly documented and currently available than any open-field picking experience would be.
Oren Wooden’s Apple House is at 6351 New Harmony Rd in Pikeville, Bledsoe County, Tennessee, on the Cumberland Plateau.
If you’re after apple dumplings, fried pies, jams, and crafts from a family-run market with decades of history, Wooden’s delivers that — just don’t count on the Orchard Cafe being open, and bring cash or a check. If u-pick apples specifically are the goal, call (423) 447-6376 to ask before making the trip.
Not stated with specific 2026 dates. No season dates or u-pick confirmation were found on the official site.
You're expecting to walk the rows and pick your own apples — the site doesn't state whether that's offered, and the once-featured Orchard Cafe is currently listed as closed.
Not stated in the record. The site doesn't say whether customers can pick their own apples; it reads more like a farm market and bakery experience.
The site notes its 'Orchard Cafe... closed until further notice,' so restaurant availability should be confirmed before visiting if that's part of your plan.
Monday-Saturday 9am-5pm, Sunday 1pm-5pm (Eastern Time).
Cash or check only, with an ATM on site, per the record — worth knowing before a visit.
A 2023 Blue Ridge Mountains Travel Guide feature describes it as roughly 100 acres with 21 apple varieties, though these figures aren't confirmed on the current official site.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Daily. Check with the orchard before driving out.
Pricing was not published when we last checked.
No — this orchard sells pre-picked apples from its own trees rather than u-pick.
6351 New Harmony Rd, Pikeville, TN 37367, in Bledsoe County. It is one of 1 orchards we track in Cumberland Plateau.
woodensapplehouse.com
Checked September 2026.