Widely described as the largest and most-visited farm on the Apple Hill trail — but conflicting signals (a July 2026 'temporarily closed' badge versus a claimed August 15 reopening) mean its current operating status needs a phone call before you plan around it.
High Hill Ranch is consistently described across Apple Hill visitor guides as the largest and most-visited farm on the trail — a reputation that makes it a natural first stop for anyone new to the Placerville area’s apple season. But this record carries an unusual caveat for a farm this well established: conflicting signals about whether it’s currently open. A Yelp listing showed a “TEMP. CLOSED” badge as of July 2026, while a separate source claimed an August 15, 2026 reopening. Neither could be confirmed directly on the ranch’s own site, which returned only truncated navigation content when checked directly.
For a smaller, lesser-known orchard, an unconfirmed closure notice might be a minor caveat. For High Hill Ranch — widely cited as the biggest draw on the entire Apple Hill trail — a genuine closure would be a significant piece of news for anyone planning a trip to the area, and a false “still closed” impression could mean unnecessarily skipping what’s supposed to be the trail’s flagship stop. That asymmetry is exactly why this gap is called out clearly here rather than smoothed over: the stakes of getting it wrong are higher than usual, and the honest answer is that it’s currently unresolved. A call to 530-644-1973 is the right next step before building a trip around this ranch specifically.
Assuming normal operations, the reported hours are longer and more generous than many smaller Apple Hill farms: Monday through Friday, 8am to 5pm, and Saturday and Sunday, 7am to 6pm, open daily. That extended weekend window — opening an hour earlier and closing an hour later than the weekday schedule — fits with a high-traffic destination expecting its biggest crowds on weekends. Again, though, these hours come from aggregated third-party listings rather than a page confirmed as current, so they should be treated as a starting estimate rather than a locked schedule, especially given the broader status uncertainty.
Pre-picked apples are confirmed available at the ranch (pre_picked is true), but whether u-pick is offered is unconfirmed — the record’s u_pick field is null rather than a firm yes or no. No apple varieties are named, and there’s no information on cider, cider donuts, or other activities. For a farm this prominent, that’s a notably thin set of confirmed specifics, which traces back to the same research obstacle: the ranch’s own site wouldn’t return full page content during this research pass, pushing everything here onto secondhand sources.
It’s worth being direct about the gap between reputation and documentation here. High Hill Ranch’s status as Apple Hill’s largest and most-visited farm is repeated consistently enough across guides to be a reasonably solid inference — but that reputation doesn’t substitute for confirmed 2026 hours, pricing, or an operating-status answer. Treat the “largest and most popular” framing as a well-supported general reputation, not a guarantee of what you’ll find if you show up today.
The address is 2901 High Hill Rd, Placerville, CA 95667. The coordinates on file are a Placerville city-center fallback rather than a point geocoded to the ranch’s exact address, so use the street address for navigation.
High Hill Ranch’s reputation as Apple Hill’s biggest draw is well documented, but its current 2026 operating status genuinely isn’t. Given the conflicting closed/reopened signals found in research, this is one case where confirming the ranch is open — with a direct phone call — should happen before you make it the centerpiece of an Apple Hill trip.
Not confirmed for 2026. Reported hours are Mon-Fri 8am-5pm and Sat-Sun 7am-6pm, daily, but these come from aggregated third-party sources rather than a confirmed current page from the ranch itself.
Not stated directly, but its reputation as the largest and most-visited Apple Hill farm suggests it draws bigger weekend crowds than smaller neighboring orchards.
You need certainty the ranch is currently open — a Yelp 'TEMP. CLOSED' badge from July 2026 conflicts with another source's claimed August 15, 2026 reopening, and neither is confirmed on the ranch's own site.
This is unresolved in the record. A Yelp listing showed a 'TEMP. CLOSED' badge as of July 2026, while another source claimed an August 15, 2026 reopening. Neither is confirmed directly on the ranch's own site, so calling 530-644-1973 before visiting is strongly advised.
Reported as Monday-Friday 8am-5pm and Saturday-Sunday 7am-6pm, open daily — but this comes from aggregated Tripadvisor/Yelp/Apple Hill guide listings, not a confirmed current page from the ranch.
Not confirmed. The record's u_pick field is null, though pre_picked apples are confirmed available (true).
Not stated in the record — no variety list was confirmed.
Because two different third-party sources gave conflicting signals about whether the ranch was open, closed, or newly reopened during 2026, and a direct fetch of the ranch's own site returned only truncated navigation content rather than usable page text — an unusual combination of gaps for a farm this well known.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Daily. Check with the orchard before driving out.
Pricing was not published when we last checked.
No — this orchard sells pre-picked apples from its own trees rather than u-pick.
2901 High Hill Rd, Placerville, CA 95667, in El Dorado County. It is one of 7 orchards we track in Apple Hill.
We track 7 orchards in Apple Hill, 3 of which let you pick your own apples. The orchard has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
One caveat worth repeating: this orchard had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 0 of the 7 orchards we track in Apple Hill had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the orchard confirms it.
There are 6 other orchards we track in El Dorado County. All Apple Hill orchards →
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
highhillranch.com
Checked September 2026.