A family-owned Smoky Mountains operation since the 1940s pairing a working orchard with a seasonal restaurant, candy shop, and crafts store — but the record can't confirm whether apples here are pick-your-own.
Carver’s Orchard & Applehouse Restaurant is a family-owned operation in the Great Smoky Mountains foothills that’s been running since the 1940s, according to its own site. Rather than a straightforward u-pick field, it pairs a working orchard with a seasonal country restaurant, candy shop, and crafts store — more of a multi-stop destination than a simple pick-your-own outing. The one thing the site doesn’t clarify is whether picking your own apples is actually part of the visitor experience here.
Third-party sources cited in the record — a Bing business listing and a reader comment on tnhomeandfarm.com — describe Carver’s as spanning 75 acres with more than 40,000 trees and 126 apple varieties. Those are striking figures if accurate, and they’d make Carver’s one of the larger apple operations in this file by a wide margin. But because none of that is itemized on Carver’s own official site, this record deliberately doesn’t treat those numbers as confirmed — they’re included here as a labeled, secondary claim rather than folded into the record as fact. If the scale of the operation matters to your decision to visit, it’s worth asking staff directly to confirm those figures.
The orchard itself keeps daily hours, 8am to 5pm. The restaurant runs on a narrower schedule — 11am to 5pm on Sunday and Thursday through Saturday, closed Monday through Wednesday. If a meal at the Applehouse Restaurant is part of your plan, timing your visit to a Thursday, Friday, Saturday, or Sunday matters; showing up on a Tuesday would find the orchard portion open but the restaurant closed.
One specific, checkable detail from the research notes: the produce counter reportedly posts a wall chart of apple varieties and their best culinary uses, and staff will let you taste an apple before buying it. That’s a genuinely useful, hands-on way to pick the right apple for your purposes — whether that’s eating fresh, baking, or something else — especially in the absence of a confirmed variety list from the official site itself.
Beyond the orchard, the record lists a restaurant, a candy shop, and a crafts store as part of the operation. That combination points toward a longer, more varied visit than a quick fruit stand — something closer to an afternoon stop than an in-and-out apple run, which tracks with the record’s characterization of Carver’s leaning more toward a seasonal country destination than an open-field u-pick operation.
This is the central gap in the record: nothing on Carver’s own website confirms or denies whether visitors can pick their own apples. That’s a different situation from an orchard that explicitly says “market only, no picking” — here, the answer simply isn’t addressed, so it’s treated as genuinely unknown rather than assumed either way.
Beyond the u-pick question, there’s no confirmed 2026 opening announcement, no pricing, and no site-confirmed variety list — despite the tantalizing third-party claim of 126 varieties. None of these gaps suggest anything is wrong with the business; they simply mean a visitor planning around specific apples, prices, or a picking experience should call ahead rather than assume based on this record.
Carver’s Orchard & Applehouse Restaurant is at 3460 Cosby Highway in Cosby, Cocke County, Tennessee, in the Great Smoky Mountains foothills. The listed coordinates are a Cosby city-center estimate rather than a geocode of the specific address.
Carver’s offers a genuine, decades-old family destination with an orchard, restaurant, candy shop, and crafts store, plus a produce counter where you can reportedly taste before you buy. If picking your own apples is the point of your trip, though, call (423) 487-2419 first — the website doesn’t confirm that’s on offer here.
Not stated with specific 2026 dates. No 2026 opening announcement was found on the orchard's own site.
You're specifically looking for open-field, pick-your-own apples — the website doesn't state whether that's offered here.
Not stated in the record. The orchard's website doesn't say whether picking your own apples is offered; it pairs a working orchard with a restaurant, candy shop, and crafts store rather than describing an open-field u-pick program.
The orchard is open 8am-5pm daily. The restaurant runs 11am-5pm Sunday and Thursday through Saturday, and is closed Monday through Wednesday.
Family-owned since the 1940s, per the orchard's own site.
Not itemized on the official site. Third-party sources (a Bing business listing and a tnhomeandfarm.com reader comment) cite 75 acres, 40,000+ trees, and 126 apple varieties, but these figures aren't confirmed on Carver's own site, so they're not used as this record's apple_varieties field.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Daily. Check with the orchard before driving out.
Pricing was not published when we last checked.
No — this orchard sells pre-picked apples from its own trees rather than u-pick.
3460 Cosby Highway, Cosby, TN 37722, in Cocke County. It is one of 1 orchards we track in Great Smoky Mountains foothills.
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
carverorchardapplehouserestaurant.com · tnhomeandfarm.com
Checked September 2026.