Family-owned since 1976, pairing u-pick apples with a corn maze and cider donuts — a solid family-outing combination, but hours, season dates, and pricing are all unconfirmed.
Abel’s Apple Acres is a family-owned Apple Hill orchard, in operation since 1976, that pairs confirmed u-pick apple access with a corn maze and cider donuts — a combination aimed squarely at a family day out rather than a quick fruit stand visit. It’s one of the longer-established operations on the Apple Hill trail, but this record is thinner than most on the practical planning details: no hours, no season dates, and no pricing were confirmed.
Research notes place Abel’s founding, under family ownership, in 1976, which puts it among the more established growers on Apple Hill. That kind of longevity often comes with a well-worn visitor experience — a farm that’s had decades to refine what it offers rather than a newer operation still figuring out its format. It’s worth asking on-site about that history if it interests you; a family running the same land for close to fifty years usually has stories worth hearing.
The two confirmed activity-adjacent facts here are genuinely useful for trip planning: u_pick is true, so picking your own apples is confirmed available, and a corn maze is listed among the orchard’s activities. That combination positions Abel’s well for families with a range of ages and interests — younger kids might enjoy the maze as much as or more than the orchard rows, while apple picking itself appeals across ages. It’s a lighter activity list than some Apple Hill farms that add petting zoos, hayrides, or wine tasting, but the corn maze alone is a meaningful point of differentiation from orchards offering picking and nothing else.
Cider donuts are specifically confirmed available (cider_donuts is true), which for many Apple Hill visitors is as much a draw as the apples themselves. What isn’t confirmed is whether Abel’s presses its own cider on-site — the cider_mill field wasn’t confirmed one way or the other, so it’s possible the donuts are made with cider sourced elsewhere, or that there’s a mill on-site that just wasn’t documented in available sources. If watching cider get pressed is important to you, that’s worth a direct question when you call.
This is where the record runs thin. There’s no list of apple varieties available for picking, so it’s not possible to say from this record whether you’d find early-season fruit or something later in the fall. More significantly, there are no hours, no days-open pattern, and no 2026 season start or end date — a wider set of missing basics than most other orchards in this file. That’s largely because a direct read of abelsappleacres.com wasn’t possible during research; everything here traces back to third-party guides like El Dorado County Farm Trails.
Given the extent of the gaps, this listing works better as “worth knowing about” than “ready to plan a specific-day trip around.” A phone call to 530-626-0138 is the necessary next step for anyone seriously considering a visit, since it’s the only way to confirm hours, current pricing, and whether the corn maze and u-pick apples are both open on the day you’d want to go.
The address is 2345 Carson Rd, Placerville, CA 95667. Coordinates on file are a Placerville city-center fallback, not geocoded to this specific address.
Abel’s Apple Acres brings together nearly fifty years of family ownership, confirmed u-pick apples, a corn maze, and cider donuts — a genuinely appealing family-day combination on paper. The catch is that none of the logistics (hours, dates, pricing) are confirmed, so this is a call-ahead stop rather than one you can plan around from the listing alone.
Not stated in the record. No days-open, hours, or 2026 season dates were confirmed for this orchard.
You need confirmed hours or a specific season date before planning your trip — none are available in the record.
Yes, u_pick is confirmed true in the record, though specific varieties aren't named.
Yes — a corn maze is listed among the orchard's activities, a combination that could appeal to families looking for more than just picking.
Yes, cider_donuts is confirmed true, though it's not stated whether they're made on-site or sourced elsewhere.
Research notes describe it as family-owned since 1976, making it one of the longer-running operations on Apple Hill.
Not stated in the record. No 2026 season start or end date, and no hours, were confirmed directly from the farm's own website, which couldn't be fetched during this research pass.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. Check with the orchard before driving out.
Pricing was not published when we last checked.
Yes — it's a pick-your-own orchard.
2345 Carson Rd, Placerville, CA 95667, in El Dorado County. It is one of 7 orchards we track in Apple Hill.
We track 7 orchards in Apple Hill, 3 of which let you pick your own apples. The orchard has not published a starting price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
What sets it apart locally: it has a corn maze, pick-your-own apples, which most Apple Hill orchards on our list do not.
One caveat worth repeating: this orchard had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 0 of the 7 orchards we track in Apple Hill had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the orchard confirms it.
There are 6 other orchards we track in El Dorado County. All Apple Hill orchards →
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
abelsappleacres.com
Checked September 2026.